Visiting the Acropolis

Categories Travels

One of the main reasons we chose to travel to Athens was to see the acropolis. My partner and I both grew up learning about Greek mythology and so the acropolis was on our bucket list.

I bought tickets to the acropolis through their website. I opted for the more expensive option, which was €30 instead of the €20 just for the Acropolis. This ticket is valid on seven different sites- Acropolis of Athens, Ancient Agora, Archaelogical Museum of Kerameikos, Hadrian’s Library, Lykeion Archaelogical Site, Olympieio and the Roman Agora.

Here is the pdf ticket one gets after purchase, and it also comes with a map of the different locations. This ticket is valid for 5 days, which is enough time.

Since we purchased tickets online, we didn’t have to queue going inside the Acropolis. I forgot how many minutes it took us to go up the top, but it took us a while because we had to a lot of stops along the way.

I did find it a bit disappointing that there were a lot of metal barricades surrounding the temples, but I do understand why it is a necessity. It was still amazing to see the Parthenon, the temple of Athena Nike and the Erechtheion among other things. Amazing how they were able to build these during their time!

Here are some of the photos that I took from our visit to the Acropolis.

0 kommentarer

Legg igjen en kommentar

Din e-postadresse vil ikke bli publisert. Obligatoriske felt er merket med *