Date in Akihabara

Categories Blogg

The lovely thing about technology is that we can reach people from different countries just with a button. A few months ago I got to know someone through IG. She is from Tokyo, but has an interest in Norwegian as well 🙂

A few months ago I told her I was going to Tokyo, and since she lives near where we live we decided to meet. Since after easter, I have been collecting some Norwegian goodies. The day after the Easter holiday I actually went hunting for Påskeegg, with no luck. You would think they would still have some påskeegg given that they started selling them way before easter. All easter eggs were gone the day after Easter holiday was done. I did find påskeskum and påskemarsipan.

So yeah, I have been collecting chocolates such as Smash and Stratos chocolate bars, and not to mention melkehjerter. I also bought salted liquorice. So my luggage was actually quite heavy because of my collected Norwegian goodies.

Anyways, we did meet in Akihabara from 11AM on our third day. We decided to go to Starbucks and ordered some drinks. We had such a good and interesting conversation that we had to force ourselves to end our meeting at 5PM. If we did not do it, we would’ve stayed and talked until late at night. Since she had to study, we ( my boyfriend and I) had to end our meeting. Her studies are much more important. I didn’t leave empty handed. She gave me some Japanese snacks. I felt so guilty that I wasn’t able to give her as much goodies as she gave me.

 

She gave me four different KitKat flavors: Pudding, Dark Chocolate, Ginger and Matcha. Matcha is my favorite!

She also gave me some snacks. Potato Chips with honey, popcorn, wasabi snacks and Pretz with some kind of fish eggs. I forgot what kind of fish eggs they were, they were smaller than caviar but kinda like roe eggs?

My boyfriend and I ate the one with honey and it was good, so we bought another one. The popcorn I just ate yesterday. It is salty, but not as salty as the ones they serve in Norway. It was deliciously salty, like the saltiness had a taste that was pleasant to the taste buds. Does that even make sense? Otherwise I haven’t tried the other two

Lastly I got a Hello Kitty handkerchief, a postcard and bookmarks from Kyoto. The bookmarks are really lovely! I do not want to use them in fear of ruining them!

I am planing on saving up on Norwegian goodies again so that I can send it to her. I actually forgot to bring Kvikk Lunsj! It’s the most Norwegian sweets and I forgot it.

It is nice though to be able to meet friends you meet online 🙂 and not to mention to be able to have friends from all around the world 😀

3 kommentarer

3 thoughts on “Date in Akihabara

Legg igjen en kommentar

Din e-postadresse vil ikke bli publisert. Obligatoriske felt er merket med *